Sunday, 3/15/15, Public Square

worship

15 Comments

by | March 15, 2015 · 6:00 am

15 responses to “Sunday, 3/15/15, Public Square

    • Asher Bob White

      One of the things I like about this blog is that religion is a comment, often. I’m a novice student of my religion. At this time I’m reading a book by Bishop John Shelby Spong; Eternal Life: A New Vision, Harper one, 2009. This week I read two thoughts that intrigue me, and want to share them for your comments, if you desire.
      (1) “…. Mahatma Gandhi is the human being most often cited to make the same point (about churches and faith) in the modern world. People have gone so far as to say of Gandhi that the twentieth-century being who most lived out the (Jesus) principles was, himself, not a believing Christian.” (2) “The human journey into God has reached a … destination. God-talk still fills the world, but it is no longer believable in the way that it once was. …. There will be no turning back on the insights of Galileo, Newton and Darwin … The old verities simply are not holding, nor will they ….”
      Comments?

      • I want to think on this. And, just maybe, thinking is what brings people to acknowledge what really is unbelievable as the quote mentions.

        The parts I find hardest to accept are those based around fear or hate. To me it’s all about charity, truth, love, compassion. Wasn’t Gandhi also all about these qualities?

        I don’t understand anyone who needs fear of an afterlife to keep them moral.

      • I am learning to understand rather than immediately judge or to be judged. I cannot blindly follow the crowd and accept their approach. I will not allow myself to indulge in the usual manipulating game of role creation. Fortunately for me, my self-knowledge has transcended that and I have come to understand that life is best to be lived and not to be conceptualized. I am happy because I am growing daily and I am honestly not knowing where the limit lies. To be certain, every day there can be a revelation or a new discovery. I treasure the memory of the past misfortunes. It has added more to my bank of fortitude.

        — Bruce Lee

    • Asher Bob White

      Ah, Yes. Back in the days when a conservative republican was still trying to be moral —- and to work constructively with duly-elected agents from parties and states other than his own; and was motivated by his electoral duties rather that corrupt money and power from special interests. My challenge is to find even “one” like him in today’s immoral conservative Republican Party.

  1. I don’t have adequate words to tell you how much damage I think has been done to both our government and to religion by the right-wing religious nutjobs. Above are some wise words I agree with. I wonder when and how we’ll be able to deal with this effectively?

  2. (from the link): Sen. Tom Cotton (R-AR) said on Sunday cited Iran’s control of their own capital, Tehran, as a reason that the country had to be stopped from obtaining a nuclear weapon.

    Huh? Tom Cotton says Iran must be stopped because ‘they already control Tehran’
    http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2015/03/huh-tom-cotton-says-iran-must-be-stopped-because-they-already-control-tehran/

  3. The youngest Senate member (37), a right-wing extremist, wasted no time heaving out the big guns. He tells us how it works in Cotton World in his Harvard thesis, as reported by The Atlantic:

    “…people are inherently selfish, narrow-minded, and impulsive. He defends the idea that the country must be led by a class of intellectually superior officeholders whose ambition sets them above other men.”

    The Making of a Conservative Superstar
    Tom Cotton is the ultimate product of today’s hard-edged, ideologically driven Republican Party. Is that what Arkansas voters want?
    http://www.theatlantic.com/features/archive/2014/09/the-making-of-a-conservative-superstar/380307/

    • Reading about Tom Cotton rings more than a few bells in my memory bank.

      Remember all the reporting done about that bunch of Conservative Christians who all lived in the house in Washington DC? Was their name called ‘The Family’?

      Does anyone else remember this?

      I wonder if Tom Cotton is one of their newest members?

      IIRC – Todd Tiarht, Jerry Moran and Sam Brownback were all in that group – and these men truly believed that God had put them into their respective offices.

      Excuse me, but I cannot force myself to believe that God has the time – nor the desire – to worry about who is in office in Washington DC.

      Seriously……God has more important things to do – like telling Sarah Palin when she is destined to run for president or keeping the Pope on direct dial to make sure that no birth control pills are allowed.

      But all those erectile dysfunction pills are A-OK with God… Yeah, boy.

      If you think this is sarcasm – you would be correct.

  4. Very interesting piece —

    How Business Made Us Christian
    A Christian Nation? Since When?
    http://www.nytimes.com/2015/03/15/opinion/sunday/a-christian-nation-since-when.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&module=c-column-top-span-region&region=c-column-top-span-region&WT.nav=c-column-top-span-region&_r=2

    (from the link): Back in the 1930s, business leaders found themselves on the defensive. Their public prestige had plummeted with the Great Crash; their private businesses were under attack by Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal from above and labor from below. To regain the upper hand, corporate leaders fought back on all fronts. They waged a figurative war in statehouses and, occasionally, a literal one in the streets; their campaigns extended from courts of law to the court of public opinion. But nothing worked particularly well until they began an inspired public relations offensive that cast capitalism as the handmaiden of Christianity.

    • As I’ve said many times before – it is very hard to fight back against a Loud-N-Proud Christian who is determined that you are their enemy – the devil himself.

      I worked at a doctor’s office and the office manager was obsessed with this idea that I hated Jesus because I dared to tell her that she could not give an ultimatum to the entire staff that ‘this is a Christian office. If you don’t like it, there is the door’.

      WTH was that about?

      The doctor was a very caring, compassionate and gifted surgeon that was also a very devout Catholic.

      BUT this doctor never gave anyone an ultimatum about religion. This doctor lived his faith – every day.

      The office manager was just a little shrew that seem to hate everyone and everything that dared to cross her path.

      She made my life at the office a complete Hell – so I quit. I was fortunate enough to be in the position to be able to quit my job. A lot of employees are not that lucky. They have to put up with one of these obsessed religious-nutjobs every day just to keep their job.

      But the nutjobs don’t seem to really give a care.

  5. Reagan was the one that brought in Jerry Falwell and his Immorality Boys into the inner sanctum of the Grand Old Party.

    Ever since that time – the Grand Old Party has become a very smelly, dirty and trashy place.