Saturday, 2/28/15, Public Square

help the poor

9 Comments

by | February 28, 2015 · 6:00 am

9 responses to “Saturday, 2/28/15, Public Square

  1. This story should be made into a banner and hung in each “news” room at Fox “News.” I know we’ve all heard it before, but that doesn’t diminish the lesson it holds. 🙂

    In ancient Greece (469 – 399 BC), Socrates was widely lauded for his wisdom.

    One day the great philosopher came upon an acquaintance, who ran up to him excitedly and said, “Socrates, do you know what I just heard about one of your students?”

    “Wait a moment,” Socrates replied. “Before you tell me, I’d like you to pass a little test. It’s called the Test of Three.”

    “Test of Three?”

    “That’s correct,” Socrates continued. “Before you talk to me about my student let’s take a moment to test what you’re going to say. The first test is Truth. Have you made absolutely sure that what you are about to tell me is true?”

    “No,” the man replied, “actually I just heard about it.”

    “All right,” said Socrates. “So you don’t really know if it’s true or not. Now let’s try the second test, the test of Goodness. Is what you are about to tell me about my student something good?”

    “No, on the contrary…”

    “So,” Socrates continued, “you want to tell me something bad about him even though you’re not certain it’s true?”

    The man shrugged, a little embarrassed.

    Socrates continued, “You may still pass though because there is a third test – the filter of Usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my student going to be useful to me?”

    “No, not really…”

    “Well,” concluded Socrates, “if what you want to tell me is neither true nor good nor even useful, why tell it to me at all?”

    The man slowly walked away…silently.

  2. It’s snowy!

    We went out to lunch yesterday and then off to see the movie Black or White. Trying to squeeze in an outing before the inevitable.

    We haven’t had many of these days this winter and that’s A-OK with me. I’m warm, have plenty of food, still have electricity which makes everything better. Probably today I won’t complain. But it sure doesn’t take long for me to begin feeling walled in and snow bound. Even if there is no place I need to go I’ll be thinking how nice it would be to get out.

    I really enjoy watching college basketball so that’s what I’ll do today starting with the WSU game at 1 o’clock.

    Rick, I’ll be thinking of you and Joyce (as usual) and hoping you make it home from the hospital without incident.

    Y’all stay warm and safe!

  3. Plymouth & Brockton busses are running between Provincetown & Boston. Picture taken on Rt 6 Cape Cod.

    My son in Boston celebrated his birthday last week and told me the sun shined as his gift. They haven’t had much sunshine there.

    • Asher Bob White

      Wow, look at all that snow! Now I know why I haven’t heard from my daughter who works in Boston.
      Was reading this morning and ran across this: “Humanity as a corporate concept does not really exist. It is a construct … only in and through individual human lives.”
      And my thought is that this is “the answer.” The error in all of our government and judicial attention and effort is the pursuit of business (commerce) and it’s property interests at the expense of the fundamentally needed attention to what is essentially important to the population; the people.
      Any thoughts?

      • I agree that the day SCOTUS deemed “corporations are people” our entire country became corporation-dominated. That goes directly against the very premise of our Constitution and goes against the very idea of equality. We the people aren’t equal to corporations and what’s more we don’t want to be, as we’re better than that!

      • Here’s a link that I found interesting. Read what it says about business, corporations and how we’re talking about it in the wrong way to actually explain the seriousness and get people’s attention on the negative changes in our country —

        (from the link): Big Business: (Also referred to as: Corporate America; Multinationals; Corporate Interests) When we use any of these words, we sound like wild-eyed, radical left-wingers right off the bat. After all, most Americans think of themselves as pro-business. When we refer to “big business” in a negative way, people think, “what’s wrong with being a ‘big business?’” After all, lots of us would love to have a business that gets “big.” Nor do most Americans have bad associations with the words “corporate” or “multinational.” They may even sound kind of exciting and worldly.

        Instead, let’s try Unelected Government. When we make our cases against greedy, tax-dodging CEOs and the stingy, destructive, and immoral companies they run, we should refer to them as “unelected government.” This puts “big business” interests in their true context — as entities run by wealthy individuals who wield scary amounts of power over us in our daily lives. Every single American who has ever been laid off, shut up, cheated, exploited, sickened, indebted, or disabled by the and which can only be held in check by equally large entities like governments and unions.

        15 Phrases “Progressives” Need To Ditch (And What We Can Say Instead)
        http://www.addictinginfo.org/2013/02/24/10-phrases-progressives-need-to-ditch/

      • Is it just my disgust for Ronald Reagan or did Reagan’s presidency start this Corporations are the Be All and End All thing they have turned into?

        I’ve often said that life is about balance.

        I remember having corporations during my childhood in the 50’s and 60’s. They were generally American corporations that strived to be good citizens.

        But today’s corporations are nothing more than globalized huge mega monster corporations that don’t give a rat’s ass about anybody or anything – just their profits at all costs.

        Just like health care – I completely understand why health care providers need to be make a profit to stay in business.

        BUT – how much profit is too much profit? When does the profit motivation start to outweigh the delivery of health care to people who need it?

        We need the balance brought back into our country – IMHO

      • This is an exceptional piece. It does include Ronald Reagan’s role. It’s not short but it’s not long, and it provides answers to many questions. I highly recommend you find time to read it.

        It’s worse than Scott Walker and Ted Cruz: Secrets of conservatives’ decades-long war on truth
        The right knows that facts and reason have a liberal bent. That’s why their decades-long strategy is to lie
        http://www.salon.com/2015/03/01/its_worse_than_scott_walker_and_ted_cruz_secrets_of_conservatives_decades_long_war_on_truth/

    • Plus – Conservatives really don’t care about telling the truth because they routinely use the Free Pass given by Jesus himself to all the ‘right’ people – you betcha – wink wink