Thursday, 12/4/14, Public Square

climate change

19 Comments

by | December 4, 2014 · 6:00 am

19 responses to “Thursday, 12/4/14, Public Square

  1. When it comes to science republicans are definitely lacking. Whether it’s our environment or biology they must have all skipped school together those many years the rest of us were busy learning.

    • Another lesson the republicans missed when they were all playing hooky from school / life —

      • LOL I had trouble finishing reading it because I was laughing so much! I can no more explain why I am heterosexual then I could explain why someone else is Homosexual. It is just something you are and no amount of programing or talking to will change it!

      • RD – whenever I ask any of these Conservative Christian Republicans to quote me the verse where Jesus or God said that homosexuals are evil sinners.

        I love to point out the fact that in the entire Bible – the ONLY part that is said to be from God’s own hands were the Ten Commandments.

        Remember that story? Moses went up to the mountains and waited with two stone tablets. And God’s hands were reported to have written on those stone tablets.

        If God hates homosexuality so much – then why didn’t God put it on his Top Ten List of sins?

        And as for Jesus – who did he ever hate? The only time Jesus ever showed his temper was when he drove the money vendors out of the Temple.

        Hell – one drive down East 21st Street going towards Andover is evidence enough of how many damn money vendors are using Jesus’ name to fill their pockets with tax-free money.

  2. Republicans demonize science, which is why they are want to get rid of public education.

    Let’s face it – what famous scientist got into trouble with the Catholic Church because of what he did as a career?

    This is not the first time science and churches have clashed.

    As for Republicans, they know they can NEVER tell these Evangelinuts to STFU – because who would vote for their lily-white butts in the next election – and especially those midterm elections?

  3. Well I went to have blood tests today to see if the pills for my blood sugars are working OK. I sure could tell not eating from yesterday at five to this morning was effecting me. I did worry the nurse when I went white setting there waiting for it to be over. In case you have forgotten I have a thing about needles. Odd huh?

  4. One thing about being a Republican is I get all kind of stuff in the mail and some of the wildest phone calls. Ok they get pretty wild after I have listens for a bit and then correct them when they start saying things I know are bald face lies. He-he Yes it is fun for me I admit! Did you know if you try to call them back it said you have reached a number that has bee disconnected?

    • I noticed all the junk Republican mail when I registered as a Republican several years ago.

      Sometimes it is the same P.O.S. but sent each day of the week before the election.

      Seriously? If you want to make friends with me – this is NOT the way to do it.

    • RD – hope everything checks out for you. Dealing with control of blood sugars can be very frustrating…

      Been there – done that – and still helping my granddaughter who was recently diagnosed with Type I diabetes.

      BTW – that bullying problem from last year has returned. It seems this particular bully is in the other classroom (so we thought the problem would be better).

      OH Hell NO…….this little girl bully is up to her old tricks on the playground.

      Hmmm…….maybe it’s time to get nasty again? This time I want the names of her parents and I want to see their butts called into the school office for a little chat about their brat.

      • My DIL told me yesterday about the little girl bully’s old tricks coming back in the picture.

        Let’s just say – my DIL has had a lot of things on her plate to deal with and she is in no mood to put up with a snot-nosed little 8-yr-old that needs a good kick in her pants.

        And then on to her parents – they really need a steel-toed boot up their butts.

  5. Asher Bob White

    All true. There is no “justice”. Therefore, no peace either.
    There will be no peace without justice, first. Peace, first and then Justice, which is the first priority for education. The first priority for education is not learning a job that benefits business enterprise in so many ways. Mostly, in not bearing the responsibility or cost of job-training its own workforce. Business has shifter that burden onto education in the form of STEM and student-testing which has replaced academe, e.g., liberal arts, fine arts, etc. Unfortunately, today’s schools are controlled and governed by elected politicians, i.e., business persons, who have replaced school guidance by parents and licensed educators; mainly teachers that work directly with students. Business is even replacing all of the professions. That’s a different tirade.

    • Oh – but these mega church preachers and televangelists don’t blame the business persons for taking over our public education system..

      These folks blame the UNIONS, Democrats, Liberals and every other nasty-sounding name they call progressives.

      • On the other hand – these mega churches and televangelists are nothing more than Big Business themselves – so that could be why they don’t blame ‘one of their own’ for destroying education.

        It’s all in a person’s perspective and motivation – huh?

        Of course, these mega church preacher men sure do like all that tax-free money they can scam off their gullible for their so-called ‘premium schools’.

        There was a time when I sent my two kids to a Catholic School because there was a lot of trouble at the public schools (of which I knew to be true).

        My daughter’s class (8th) grade was taught by a Nun. She was very nice. The other kids (all Catholics) gave her such a hard time and harassed her without mercy until this Nun ended up in the psyche ward here in Wichita.

        And when I asked the principal what was going on – she said, oh, nothing, Just a little problem with some kids.

        A ‘little problem’? When a group of snot-nosed bratty kids can send a Nun into the psyche ward is called a ‘little problem’ , then I have no respect for that church.

        And that was back before the news broke about this same Church covering up for child molesters for years.

        Just because it is a private church school does not make it better.

        My Mom was taught in a one-room school house. She learned more in that setting than all these fancy school buildings put together.

  6. BEST POEM IN THE WORLD

    I was shocked , confused, bewildered
    as I entered Heaven’s door,
    not by the beauty of it all,
    nor the lights or its decor.
    But it was the folks in Heaven
    who made me sputter and gasp–
    the thieves, the liars, the sinners,
    the alcoholics and the trash.

    There stood the kid from seventh grade
    who swiped my lunch money twice.
    Next to him was my old neighbor
    who never said anything nice.

    Bob, who I always thought
    was rotting away in hell,
    was sitting pretty on cloud nine,
    looking incredibly well.

    I nudged Jesus, ‘What’s the deal?
    I would love to hear Your take.
    How’d all these sinners get up here?
    God must’ve made a mistake!.’

    ‘And why is everyone so quiet,
    so somber – give me a clue.’
    ‘Hush, child,’ He said,
    ‘they’re all in shock.
    No one thought they’d be seeing you.’

    • This is funny…

      When I get real irritated at some Bible Thumper, I will ask them if they will be in Heaven. Of course, their reply is a resounding ‘YES’.

      That is when I say – then that would not be Heaven to me. I can barely tolerate you here on Earth – why would I want to spend eternity next to you?

      I know…..I need to work on a few issues…..LOL

    • Actually – I am starting to think John Lennon had it right in his song ‘Imagine’.