Saturday, 11/8/14, Public Square

alice tea party

12 Comments

by | November 8, 2014 · 6:00 am

12 responses to “Saturday, 11/8/14, Public Square

  1. I really don’t know the logistics of taking insurance coverage away from millions of people (my husband is one of them who may lose), but I don’t think any member of SCOTUS considers those logistics. I really believe they look at the law. I also believe they interrupt the law according to their personal conclusions and those conclusions differ from one Justice to another. Hard as it is to accept none of us is the only person who feels passionately about an issue, it is the truth. Opposing viewpoints is why we have the Judicial, and we must always remember that is one-third of our government.

    The two things you need to know about the Supreme Court’s new Obamacare case
    http://www.vox.com/2014/11/7/7174437/obamacare-supreme-court-king-two-things-you-need-to-know

    • I just had a thought — what IF the four Justices who decided to hear this case are wanting to put the naysayers down ONCE AGAIN?? Just maybe…

  2. Richard Crowson sang a little ditty on KMUW last week. Here are the lyrics, and to hear the ditty go to the link and click the blue “Listen” button. 🙂

    Well, Baby, I’m sad, and I’m down
    ‘Cause I’m progressive but I live in a conservative town
    My next door neighbor’s just the nicest guy you ever could meet
    But he’s a deep shade of crimson from his head to his feet
    I vote left, but never right
    All my candidates get beat up every election night
    But this time I thought a victory was within my grasp
    But then they counted all those red votes and I lost my ass-pirations

    I wonder why do I torture myself like this
    I swear I must be some kind of sick masochist
    You know, you’d think by now that I would have learned
    If we’re having an election, man, I’m gonna get burned
    In Kansas I always lose, I’ve got the red state blues

    But I love my home, my family, my friends
    I even like the crazy weather – hail and snow and high winds
    The only thing in Kansas that I guess I really can’t stand
    Is feeling blue after elections with my head in my hands
    I won’t move – I’m staying right here
    I kind of like the way it tastes when there are tears in my beer
    I may be battered and I may be a little bit bruised
    But I’ll stay right here in Kansas with the red state blues.

    http://kmuw.org/post/red-state-blues#.VFzj5cA_nhh.facebook

  3. Obama is calling for over $5 billion in taxpayer money to send more troops to Iraq and train rebel groups. Arming rebel groups has worked so well.

    I am devastated.

    Is there any way, any leader, any hope we won’t continue sending our youth to war? War is good for business. Invest your kids.

  4. Especially after last week’s midterm elections, please don’t forget recent history —

  5. Some fun with words —

  6. Wisdom from Robert Reich —

    If you want a single reason for why Democrats lost big Tuesday it’s this: Median family income continues to drop, the first “recovery” when this has occurred. Meanwhile, all the economic gains are going to the richest Americans. If the Republicans think they can reverse this through their supply-side, trickle-down, fiscal austerity policies, they’re profoundly mistaken. The public will soon discover this.

    But if the Democrats believe they can reverse it simply by raising taxes on the rich and redistributing to everyone else, they are mistaken, too.

    We need to raise the minimum wage, invest in education and infrastructure, lift the cap on income subject to Social Security payroll taxes, resurrect Glass-Steagall and limit the size of the banks, make it easier for low-wage workers to unionize, raise taxes on corporations with high ratios of CEO pay to average worker pay, and much more.

    In other words, we need an agenda for shared prosperity. Over the next two years the Democrats have an opportunity to advance one. If they fail to do so, we’ll need a new opposition party that represents the interests of the vast majority.

    • One big reason Republicans gained more power in the midterms is because – The average voter expected problems to be in an instant.

      We have technology that gives us all we want in an instant:

      1) Food
      2) Entertainment
      3) Telephone and Internet
      4) Instant gratification in conversations on Facebook, Twitter and even blogging.

      And these are just an example of how most Americans live their daily lives – we do not have to put forth an effort to get any results…..

      Will technology be a factor in our demise?

      • It well could be, indy. There are some things that do not lend themselves to instant resolution; the economy is one, as it is like an ocean liner, the inertia of which makes instant course corrections highly improbable. The same pertains to all bureaucratic systems in general.

  7. Yep! It not only could be done to defeat whoever is the Democratic presidential candidate, but it seems to me we should expect it — it fits the republican MO.

    A totally legal, totally shady way that Republicans could ensure Hillary Clinton’s defeat
    http://www.vox.com/2014/11/8/7174945/electoral-college-rigging