Tuesday, 10/7/14, Public Square

Voting booth

17 Comments

by | October 7, 2014 · 6:00 am

17 responses to “Tuesday, 10/7/14, Public Square

  1. I just wish more Americans knew the basics of how our government works.

    I am appalled and saddened by what I hear in my discussions with Democrats, Republicans, Independents and those who are not interested in politics.

    Our social/gossip network that has passed for journalism has certainly done their job well – IMHO.

    There are a lot of dumbed down Americans falling into their corporate trap of being satisfied with their designer coffee and blinged-out cell phones so they are not distracted by what these corporations are doing to our country.

    And those folks who are politically involved are so busy listening to Foxxies Hen House Cluck Fest and/or Hate Talk Radio Shock Jock Jamboree that these folks do not bother to do research on their own and distinguish facts from fiction.

  2. Has everyone seen this? It’s great!

  3. http://www.msn.com/en-us/money/companies/wal-mart-to-stop-healthcare-benefits-for-some-part-time-workers/ar-BB82MhP

    ——-

    Remember my posting yesterday about Walmart teaming up with DirectHealth to have reps in stores to sign up people for Medicare plans and available plans through Affordable Care Act?

    I wonder if this announcement (a day later) has anything to do with the fact that it appears Walmart could save $500 million dollars and socialize their health care costs over and throw business to their new partner – DirectHealth?

    Hmmmm…..interesting timing for these two announcements – don’t you think?

    Or is it just coincidental????

    Yeah, sure…. you betcha….. wink-wink

    • http://www.msn.com/en-us/money/insurance/wal-mart-plans-1-stop-health-coverage-shopping/ar-BB7Ku1J

      ——-

      this is the link I posted yesterday about Walmart teaming up with DirectHealth to provide 1-stop health coverage shopping.

      BTW – who in their right mind truly believes that Walmart’s profits could not cover the extra cost to continue providing health care coverage to their OWN employees?

      If corporations are people – then they must all live by the same moral code of: Privatize profits and socialize costs.

      Is that the new American way?

      Added note to think about: I wonder how loud the Foxxies Hen House Cluck Fest will get about how poor Walmart is being forced to stop providing health care coverage to these employees?

      That big ol’ bad Obama – making poor widdle Walmart have to choose between doing what is morally right and kicking their employees off their health care coverage plan.

      I wonder if Foxxies Hen House Cluck Fest will even MENTION about how Walmart is teaming up with the DirectHealth and is now in the position to shift all these affected employees over to the socialized costs of Affordable Health Care plans?

      BINGO – right there with that move – Walmart is a guaranteed winner of keeping at least the $300 million (the previous cost of providing health insurance for these affected employees).

      Wow – I wonder if the new Walmart CEO will get a big fat bonus check for all his hard work – big eye roll…

  4. Asher Bob White

    Been travelling for two weeks; Atlanta, St. Louis, Lawrence, Hays, Breckenridge, Hays, Wichita, Oklahoma City, Memphis, Atlanta and back to Fort Myers. Did I miss much? It will take some time to review.
    Also, I like today’s post, however, there are still obvious problems, e.g., Congress and Pentagon are corrupt, White House is obstructed, and while all hope lies with the voters, they are ill advised and uninformed or immoral conservatives. The common good and the public interest doesn’t have much of a chance anymore. The best part of this year’s election might be changing today’s Brownbackistan back into Kansas. And even that will mean lingering problems created “on-purpose” over the passed four years.

    • Welcome home – traveling is fun but after two weeks, I always loved pulling into my driveway of my own home.

      I compare that feeling to taking off my shoes and putting my feet up – knowing I would not be moving until getting ready for bed.

      fnord and I have been comparing notes about Greg Orman. I signed up for Orman’s campaign emails. So far, I like what Orman is saying.

      I like it even more knowing Orman is up by 10 points and is seen as a real threat to Pat Roberts.

      I just hope the polls are taking an accurate snapshot of how the final votes are counted..

  5. http://www.msn.com/en-us/tv/news/‘7th-heaven’-reruns-dropped-amid-star’s-child-molestation-investigation/ar-BB84HsR

    ——-
    Hate to sound so cynical…..but this is how the Catholic Church should have handled their child molestation charges within their ranks..

    An irritation today on my way to do an errand – I got behind a woman driving a van. There were a lot of Jesus/God bumper stickers and then one prominent bumper sticker that was that said – Stop Abortion – Everybody deserves a birthday.

    I followed this woman until she turned into the entrance to a local Catholic elementary school (I assume it was to pick up some children because it was about that time in the afternoon).

    My first thought was:

    1) Why so many bumper stickers about Jesus/God?

    2) If you’re so anti-abortion – then why do you support a church that wants to ban birth control for all women – even if they are not Catholic?

    The best way to stop an abortion is to prevent an unwanted pregnancy. How hard is that understand?

  6. Today, we drove up to Emporia to take our granddaughter, who attends college there, to lunch. She was hungry. 🙂

    The Flint Hills are beautiful. Lots of green for this time of year. Fall hasn’t begun adding much color yet. Maybe not enough cold weather? The winter wheat is just peeking through the ground with that luscious green color of the newly sprouted. The milo looks ready to harvest. When vehicles drove on dirt or gravel roads near the highway we could see the dust plume behind them for a long ways — IT IS DRY out there.

    I was pleasantly surprised to see a number of Jean Schodorf yard signs in Emporia! I was disappointed to see a number of Roberts signs.

    • I’ve been seeing a lot of Greg Orman signs on my various errands throughout the week.

      Of course, there are the usual Pat Roberts signs – I assume they are dyed-in-the-wool Republicans??

  7. Right-wing Stupidity on display.

    Poll Reveals Which State Americans Want to “Kick Out” of the Union

    53% of the respondents wanted to kick California out of the USA. California is the 7th largest economy in the WORLD.

    25% of the respondents want to kick New York out … the financial center of the USA. Go ahead, kick these states out. They will do just fine … the rest of the USA, not so much.

    I’m thinking, I’d want to live in this ‘New California of York’ country. It would be nice to not have to pick up the slack all these inane beggar states.