Tuesday, 7/15/14, Public Square

stnd your ground

26 Comments

by | July 15, 2014 · 6:00 am

26 responses to “Tuesday, 7/15/14, Public Square

  1. These gun nuts have convinced me of one thing – I need to look into buying my own gun in case I need to protect myself or my family from the gun nuts.

    • BTW – I worked in a long-term-care pharmacy and my co-worker (originally from Louisiana) proudly announced that she carried her gun with her at all times.

      Let’s just say – knowing she was armed is one thing.

      But to know she is a Louisiana-born Tea Party CONservative Republican made me even more afraid of what she would do with that damn gun.

      • I saw a T-shirt that read something like — you bet I carry a concealed weapon.

        Made me think of that braggart Hank Price who always went around telling everyone about his concealed weapon.

      • When you have to brag about your concealed weapon – doesn’t that tell you something?

        Too many erectile dysfunction pills being paid for by MY tax dollars?

      • BTW – why should my money be used to pay for their erectile dysfunction pills?

        That goes against my religious beliefs.

        Maybe the limp noodle syndrome is God’s plan for that man – or maybe this is God’s form of birth control?

        WOW…..think of it from that perspective….

      • It actually defeats the reasoning and intention of having a concealed weapon if you are telling everyone you meet that you have a weapon on you. It would actually be to someone whom is going to do you harm to know they will need to do it first! I do not have a C C. but do some times have a weapon in the vehicle I am in. But that is not everyday or unless I believe there is a reason to.

  2. Meanwhile, the WAR ON WOMEN includes issues we don’t even talk about.

    (from the link): She reminds us that there’s another women’s rights injustice being carried out that isn’t talked about — forced sterilizations are being performed on incarcerated women in California prisons.

    I’m not talking about the 1920’s eugenic laws; I’m talking about now, currently, right here in the U.S.

    Does losing your freedom mean losing freedom over your body & future too?
    http://bluenationreview.com/corrections-facilities-serving-injustice-women/

  3. This made me smile. I like that we are talking more easily about some subjects that were taboo not very long ago.

    Overheard on the Subway
    http://lockerdome.com/tre/6170042811288129/6779211545457681

  4. Then there’s this based on polls. This isn’t anything we didn’t already recognize but it still puzzles me the ‘conservatives’ are unable to recognize it.

    GOP Self-Destruction Complete: Millennials Officially Hate Conservatives
    http://www.alternet.org/news-amp-politics/gop-self-destruction-complete-millennials-officially-hate-conservatives

  5. This is great! What do you suppose Boehner’s next move will be? I’m sure it won’t be anything that spends our tax money wisely or benefits our country or her citizens, but beyond that I can’t guess.

    Democrats Demand Accountability for Boehner’s Misuse Of Taxpayer Funds for His Lawsuit
    http://www.politicususa.com/2014/07/14/democrats-demand-transparency-taxpayer-money-boehners-lawsuit.html

  6. This morning’s paper said about 100 people paid to be inside the theater and hear Brownback and failed Republican candidate Santorum yesterday and about 60 people (many wearing red shirts in support of teachers) were protesting outside. I’ll be sooo tickled when Kansas kicks Brownback to the curb and gets started addressing our challenges!

  7. STEPHANOPOULOS: One of the other things you see coming out of this are more and more calls for the president to be impeached, Sarah Palin most prominently this week. Any articles of impeachment would be drawn up by your committee. Is this something you’re considering? Or do you agree with Speaker Boehner who says it’s off the table?

    GOODLATTE: We are not working on or drawing up articles of impeachment. The Constitution is very clear as to what constitutes grounds for impeachment of the president of the United States. He has not committed the kind of criminal acts that call for that.

  8. Conservatives pass along silly talking points that are easily proven false. Why do conservatives believe this nonsense? Why are they not curious and looking for facts?

    Graphs that shows the truth behind the republican lie that Obama has presided over a “part-time economy,” where full-time work has been devastated by his relentlessly anti-capitalist policies.

    The easiest way to fact-check the claim that part-time work is rising is to measure Americans working part-time who want to work full time—i.e. “for economic reasons.” It turns out that the entire increase in part-time employment happened before Obamacare became a law in 2010.

    As for the claim that involuntary part-time work is replacing full-time work? Go to the link for an interactive graph titled, This Is ‘Part-Time America’: II, to see the truth.

    Here’s What Obama’s ‘Part-Time America’ Really Looks Like
    http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2014/07/heres-what-obamas-part-time-america-really-looks-like/374356/

  9. I read that a Nevada court has put a warrant out for rancher Cliven Bundy’s son Lance after he failed to appear at a court hearing, so maybe all the gun nuts will head back to Nevada. I don’t wish that on the fine folks of that state but they do seem to flock to places where they hope to use those guns they love so much.

    • I saw that also – seems this is another case in which the Bundy son stated he was in the hospital rather than being in court so a warrant was issued for his arrest.

      Of course, this was all just an honest mix-up – huh?

      You betcha ….wink-wink

  10. This gave me a good chuckle!

  11. My wife got me some tee shirts at a yard sales that she said reminds her of me. The one I am wearing today…” It’s not that I forget… It’s just that I don’t care!”.

  12. I just responded to yet another forwarded email from a ‘friend?’ that does not seem to understand my previous simple request to not have her list my email addy in her huge To: Listing for these forwarded emails that seem to have no end to them – these things NEVER die…..

    It was entitled ‘my Bucket List’ – and, of course, the first thing was bidding farewell to Obama. Kinda shows you where this thing is headed – huh?

    From that point on – it covered everything a Tea Party Evangelical Christian Republican uses as their talking points – God – Flag – Supporting the troops -Constitution – Bill of Rights – Balancing the budget and others.

    I replied to my friend and asked a pointedly direct question – I asked her what organized religion and/or church she claims for her own. I went on to say that I was interested in her point of view and I also have my own Bucket List with many of the same issues, but mine were worded differently.

    I asked her if I could send her my Bucket List – and then I reminded her that I had previously requested her to take my email addy off her huge list the last time she forwarded me an email like this one.

    I reiterated that I already get way too many of these forwarded emails from acquaintances – and that I did not want my email addy to be made public for everyone and their momma to see.

    I am interested to see if this woman will answer my question about her religion and/or church affiliation.

    But more than that – I want to see if this woman can respect my wish to not have my email addy included in her huge list……..because a true friend would honor my request……..

    especially since I have NEVER forwarded her any email like this – nor have I ever sent her any political and/or religious themed emails.

    In fact, I have not emailed her since the last time about 6 months ago and that was when I made the request to take my email addy off her list..

    Why is she now including me on her list again for these nonsense forwarded emails.

    The midterm election is coming up soon…….maybe her preacher or priest has encouraged her to contact all her friends and push for their agenda?

  13. http://fivethirtyeight.com/datalab/democrats-are-in-a-perilous-position-in-2014-senate-races/

    A serious, statistically based view of the upcoming election as it pertains to the U.S. Senate. Note the GOP gains seats; the only question is how many.

    • Continuation of Do Nothing Congress is exactly what the Corporatists want and need.

      As long as WE the People have to put up with these elected officials and fighting about these petty social issues – the corporatists can once again run over everyone….

      Note – Citibank was fined $7 billion (that’s Billion with a B) for their mortgage misdeeds……..too little, too late – IMHO

      As one pundit summed it up yesterday – this fine is viewed as nothing more than just a cost to do business….

  14. http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/post-politics/wp/2014/07/15/more-than-100-republicans-endorse-democrat-against-kansas-gov-brownback-r/

    —-
    Did you see this? Sam Brownback has managed to get 100 Republicans to endorse the Democrat candidate for Governor.

    But, then again, something like this will only embolden the Tea Party Republicans and Fundy Evangies into thinking that their boy Sammy is really doing something good when that many folks are against you.

    It must be nice living in an alternative universe where up is down and bad is good…

    • I did see that and I had almost the same thought you did (surprise 😉 ). All the idiots will be motivated and Kansans have proven to me the idiots are in the majority.