Friday, 4/4/14, Public Square

10006971_746738838677766_75738707_n

15 Comments

by | April 4, 2014 · 6:00 am

15 responses to “Friday, 4/4/14, Public Square

  1. But…that is $2 trillion that Republicans want their hands on – so these RePUKES will do anything to get their greedy hands on all that money.

    Can you imagine how many wars RePUKES could start with $2 trillion?

  2. My cousin did not come out of the induced coma. She is being evaluated today with another brain scan and EEG. The prognosis is not good. She had a high fever spike yesterday and they still do not even know what they are dealing with, at this time.

    They’re not really sure what happened to her when she collapsed on Monday afternoon. The heart is functioning at 20% – which is why they induced the coma – on top of the coma she had slipped into while she was in ambulance being transported to hospital.

    Today is the day some hard decisions will have to be made – please send some positive energy and/or prayers in her direction..

    Life is not fair…….

    My cousin is only 60 yrs old – her Social Security benefits will never be used up – will they?

    My brother died at the age of 57 – his last year of life battling liver cancer, he was finally given disability (Medicare) but he spent his entire life contributing to his social security benefits. Did those disability payments come anywhere near the amount of total SS benefits he would have received if he had lived to the age of 80 or 90 yrs old?

    My brother’s wife died at the age of 48 from a massive coronary. She never got one dime of her social security benefits.

    When I see these Tea Party Mad Haters protesting about Social Security and Medicare – I just want to scream. These folks are all much older than my brother and his wife and my cousin – and these are also the folks who benefit greatly from Medicare.

    A few years ago, the fastest growing population is 85 yrs old and older.

    You want to know why that is possible? Medicare, plain and simple.

    Medicare has made it possible for a lot of people to live longer. So, this factors into how Social Security funding is being spent – and those health care costs.

    Our country needs to come to a moment of reality – if we continue to make it possible for people to live longer – then we need to figure out a way to pay for it.

    From my viewpoint – I suspect we are killing off our younger, working Americans who have never used their SS benefits and giving it all to those we help to live longer by giving them Medicare.

    And then these Tea Party Mad Haters Republicans do nothing but BITCH about it…….

    How ungrateful…..

    • Indy, I’m so sorry. My ex-girlfriend in Texas became suddenly and mysteriously ill and died in 2012 at the age of 56. No one ever really knew what happened or why she became ill. It happens, and it’s tragic and awful and the grief of loved ones is unimaginable. I’m so sorry you and your family have to endure this on top of everything else you have endured.

      We had to make hard decisions too, but sometimes, all you can do is wish them easy passage and then make that possible. Not one of us involved will ever feel good about those decisions, but in the end, there was no other realistic choice. Sending good thoughts to you and yours and wishing all of you peace.

      Hugs, Indy. ((((((((Indy))))))))

      • Thanks for your constant support and encouragement throughout the years I’ve known you (but have never met in person).

        This is why I think our blog is so special and different than other blogs – we have people who truly care about one another.

        I have never felt like anyone on this blog is here to score political points – we are here to discuss the issues, try to find some sense of what is going on (if there is any sense to be found) and try to bounce ideas off one another. But, bottom line, we are a group of people who value the existence of this blog family – even if none of us are blood-related.

        I think this situation is hitting too close to home for me – today is my birthday and I am now 61 yrs old.

        According to all the textbooks, I should have been the one that died 7 years ago. My prognosis was terrible – but I beat my cancer.

        I sometimes feel the survivor’s guilt …… and ask that never-to-be-known question – why me?

        My Muslim oncologist told me once that I must have done something mighty good in my past life to have survived.

        What the hell that was …I will never know – LOL

        Maybe I am just too ornery or stubborn to give in…..I got that from my grandma.

        Life is not fair……. that is what I always come back to…..Life is not fair.

  3. So, after that sobering post, here’s a little good news on the equality front.

    “Mozilla CEO Brendan Eich, whose support for California’s anti-gay marriage law Proposition 8 ignited a controversy for the Firefox maker, has resigned.

    ‘Mozilla prides itself on being held to a different standard and, this past week, we didn’t live up to it,’ Mitchell Baker, the executive chairwoman of Mozilla, wrote. ‘We know why people are hurt and angry, and they are right: It’s because we haven’t stayed true to ourselves.

    “Brendan Eich has chosen to step down from his role as CEO. He’s made this decision for Mozilla and our community.’

    Eich, who founded the programming language JavaScript and cofounded Mozilla in 1998, was named Mozilla’s new CEO on March 24. It was soon revealed that he provided financial backing for Prop 8, inciting calls for his resignation on social media, as well as a noteworthy protest from dating site OkCupid. Eich had defended the $1,000 donation in interviews, saying that his politics did not affect how he would perform as CEO.”

    I like Foxfire. I’m glad he stepped down. I did not want to go through the hassle of using a new browser for a full fledged boycott.

    • I wonder if that guy now thinks his $1,000 donation was worth it?

      What I find most ironic is that these Evangelinuts think it is okay for their Mike Huckabee to rally their troops to stand in line to buy an overpriced deep fried chicken sandwich to prove how much they love their Jesus and hate the homosexuals.

      So – when the tables are turned and it is one of THEIR guys who gets the protesters against him – then it is a different story in these Evangelinuts’ eyes.

      NO – that is called freedom of speech – and it is guaranteed to everyone. NOT just the Evangelinuts who think they speak for God – and apparently everybody else.

      OH HELL NO…..they don’t …..these NUTS do not speak for me..

  4. http://www.forbes.com/sites/ryanellis/2014/04/02/hobby-lobby-owners-can-have-a-401k-and-first-amendment-rights/
    —-

    We’ve all heard about the Hobby Lobby’s 401k company plan that has investments in the very same pharmaceutical companies that make the very same contraceptives and/or abortion drugs that the religious owners of Hobby Lobby are arguing at the Supreme Court is a threat to their religious freedom if they are mandated to offer coverage for such things in their health care coverage plan.

    Wow – this guy at Forbes sure has come down on why Hobby Lobby can have their cake and eat it too.

    Bottom line – to this guy – is that Hobby Lobby owners do not get to pick which investments their employees choose for their 401k. And, furthermore, that mutual funds are set up by investment firms – and not the religious owners themselves.

    So, I guess since there are several layers between the profit off abortion drugs and contraceptives and these religious owners – that God is okay with it?

    Okay – but I heard on the Joy Reid MSNBC show that there is a company that will sort through all investments for religious companies and filter out those that would be deemed taboo.

    According to Joy Reid – the Hobby Lobby people did not use this company and they even declined to use them.

    So……..isn’t this an ethical question?

    If Hobby Lobby is so religious it cannot offer health care coverage for such contraceptives and/or abortion drugs – then how can it not see anything wrong with them making a profit off the investments from the manufacturers making these very items that are so offensive to their religion?

    Bottom line – to me – is the same ol’ thing – MONEY talks and religious B.S. walks….

  5. http://blogs.wsj.com/speakeasy/2014/04/04/mets-slugger-daniel-murphy-and-why-critics-cry-foul-over-paternity-leave/
    —–

    Have we all heard about the Mets baseball player that chose to take 3 days of paternity leave t be with his wife for the birth of their first child rather than to play ball?

    First of all – it is nobody’s business but this man and his wife with regard to what they do or don’t do.

    This paternity leave of 3 days is something IN the union contract – so where is the problem?

    Second of all – these macho men who think they can just shoot their seed into any ol’ fertile field and that is the last time they have any responsibility for the results all need to get a freakin life..

    This is a week that has seen some monumental issues being raised and debated.

    But yet this is what is taking top rating – whether a man is allowed paternity leave?

    When will this freakin country just GROW the HELL up….

    • Maybe this baseball player should have called his desire to be with his wife for 3 days of paternity leave a mandate for his ‘religious freedom’?

      That seems to carry a lot of weight with a certain bunch of folks..

  6. Indy, my dear, happy birthday. You have to remember that the day you were born was a happy one for so very many people. That’s why we celebrate birthdays. They mark the start of lives that make us happy. You make your family happy and that is reason enough for you to be happy.

    You make us happy here on the blog. I’m sure none of us can imagine this blog without you, or without any of the other people who populate it. I’m happy you were born on this day and that you are alive 61 years later. Lots of other people are happy you are still alive on this day. I hope you are as well, and I hope you do something nice for yourself. You deserve it. After all, bringing that much happiness to that many people is hard work!
    🙂

  7. Happy birthday, Indy! You are very special and this day is a celebration of YOU and how very fortunate we are to have you as a friend! It’s like we got a beautiful gift on your birthday!

  8. Happy birthday, indy, although I’m sure your thoughts are otherwise directed this day.

  9. Thanks to everyone for their good birthday wishes.

    I just got finished with my birthday surprise with my two grandkids (8yr and 3yr olds) and they are, indeed, a very big part of my life. We took turns blowing out the candles (thank God there was not 61 of them – LOL)

    I have not seen my most recent grandbaby yet – but we are having something this weekend with entire family. Bar-b-que sounds good.

    My little 8yr old granddaughter had turned 1 yr old right before my cancer diagnosis. I truly believe that she was sent to help me through all that stuff. My DIL made up a scrapbook for me when I was in the hospital and it is filled with so many beautiful memories. No matter what was happening – I remember getting that scrapbook out and it relit that fire beneath my butt to fight on…

    AND ….these three grandkids are the real reason I am so passionate about my political views. I want my grandkids to be able to grow up in a country that I was lucky enough to grow up in.

    Nothing inspires or motivates a mother/grandmother as watching her kids/grandkids pay the price for the greed, ignorance, arrogance and stupidity of some of these knuckle-dragging Neanderthals…..

    You know what they say about the mother bear and her cubs – correct?

    That goes double for the grandmother bear and her grandbaby cubs…

    GRRRRRR……..