Tuesday, 10/22/13, Public Square

marty mcfly

22 Comments

by | October 22, 2013 · 6:00 am

22 responses to “Tuesday, 10/22/13, Public Square

  1. I can’t remember what Marty McFly found today. I did watch that movie long ago. I think there were sequels I didn’t watch and I remember almost as much about the one movie I watched as those I didn’t. 🙂

    • Okay. So after using this photo as a header I’m reading NO THIS ISN’T CORRECT. It’s October 21, 2015. Maybe. Seems to be a point of contention. If you use ‘the’ google you find the hullabaloo created by this discussion.

      So, mankind is arguing over this little tidbit too. Is there anything we won’t argue about if given the chance?

  2. This is moving. Being different is hardest when you’re young. It isn’t ever easy. Take the 12 minutes to listen because this poet touches your heart and reminds you of many things we need to remember.

    YouTube says: By turn hilarious and haunting, poet Shane Koyczan puts his finger on the pulse of what it’s like to be young and … different.

    • wicked

      I don’t recall seeing this TED, but I do remember seeing the video that accompanied it. If I remember, it was narrated by the girl in the story. We forget how cruel our words are. I remember watching others being bullied. I didn’t join in, but I didn’t try to stop it. Not often enough, anyway. And I’m still ashamed that I didn’t speak out against it, each and every time.

      • was severely bullied in both Jr. high and my sophomore year of high school. Then over the summer between my sophomore and Junior year I shoot up to six- two and was still over two hundred pounds. Suddenly I made a difference when I saw someone else being bullied I just could not stand for it. By my senior year No one would mess with me nor anyone when I was around. Being a bully is more about being a coward and making one self feel better about being a coward.

      • wicked

        Being a bully is more about being a coward and making one self feel better about being a coward.

        You nailed it right there!!

  3. This piece from the The Topeka Capital-Journal states “This is a taste of constitutional tension given life during 2 1/2 years of the Brownback administration.”

    Brownback-era policy swirls in constitutional maelstrom
    Testing gun, education, abortion boundaries hallmark of GOP administration
    http://cjonline.com/news/state/2013-10-20/brownback-era-policy-swirls-constitutional-maelstrom#comment-1055141

  4. wicked

    Chris Christie dropped opposition to gay marriage, making New Jersey the 14th state in the nation to legalize gay marriage.

    Power to the people!

    • All it takes to change the world is courage and being willing to show those wanting to impose on others that you are not willing to stand silent. sadly I have been doing that among people I know and have lost some outer friends.

  5. wicked

    And another school shooting yesterday. SMH Semi-automatic handgun. Nah, we don’t need tougher gun regulation. We need to lock up people who allow their guns to be available for anyone, even 13 & 14-year-olds. Or maybe superglue it to their butts so they have to figure out how to soot it without knocking them over and shooting themselves.

  6. wicked

    Davis names Docking as his running mate

    Paul Davis, the likely Democratic nominee for Kansas governor, on Tuesday named Jill Docking as his lieutenant governor running mate, confirmed by his Facebook page.

    I met his brother, Bill, years ago, when I visited friends at KU. He was the roommate of one of those friends. Now that friend is a blazing red republican. It’s sad how so many people who “find God” forget what Jesus taught.

  7. According to this interview Pat Roberts is one of those this nutjob plans to replace with a TeaParty Republican. [eye roll] You know what? I think Kansans will buy into this in great numbers. The cruzies (aka evangelinuts) and their absolutist positions speak to those who love living in Brownbackistan.

    “We’re in the process of repopulating the Republican party with people that stand for something,” FreedomWorks CEO Matt Kibbe declared on Hardball with Chris Matthews. Despite reports that his group is nearly broke, Kibbe told host Chris Matthews on Monday that his group would help Tea Party Republicans dominate the GOP within a year.

    http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2013/10/21/freedomworks-ceo-promises-chris-matthews-tea-party-will-upgrade-southern-gop-by-2014/

    • wicked

      Maybe. But we have a year to watch, learn and experience. When the Rs shut down the government once again, and more and more people feel the pain, we’ll have to keep reminding them just who and why it was done. Petty, stupid children only care when it hurts them. Let’s make sure it does hurt them.

  8. Yes. That’s what republicans do — rewrite history. Then their faithful followers fall in line, repeat the talking points and tell us about how good and patriotic they are.

    Marco Rubio Rewrites Government Shutdown History
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/20/marco-rubio-government-shutdown_n_4131841.html

  9. I laughed out loud at this —

    Andy Borowitz says:

    “It might save a lot of headaches if we got rid of the healthcare website and just let the NSA input our personal information for us.”

    • Seeing it does blow my mind, even tho I’ve lived it for a number of years along with everyone I know. Still a bunch of people more than willing to allow the wealthiest to become even more wealthy at their expense. I wish I everyone would not only see this video but understand it and be willing to VOTE against the special privileges that have allowed it.

  10. When talking about Freedom Works Tea Party group – maybe the reason they are in financial difficulties is because they had to pay Dick Armey off when he suddenly resigned – and not just resigned, Armey asked for his name to be taken off everything connected to this TP group.

    Hmmm….if this group has $8 million to pay off Armey – who left in a huff – then perhaps this TP group is more into fundraising for themselves than to actually try to find politicians that can actually govern..

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/post-politics/wp/2012/12/03/dick-armey-quits-freedomworks/