Monday, 10/21/13, Public Square

arithmetic

23 Comments

by | October 21, 2013 · 6:00 am

23 responses to “Monday, 10/21/13, Public Square

  1. While everything is true in the graphic – Republicans do not care if certain people get special tax rates and are wealthy.

    What did I hear consistently during Romney’s campaign? Everybody wants to be a millionaire – don’t they?

    NOT me……I have never had a goal of being a millionaire.

    Money is not that important to me ….but obviously to be a ‘real’ Republican – one has to worship money…

  2. The text I sent my son after his wedding and well I had some southern comfort: “you two need to get married every other week and have that what whatg ever therfe …. lol yesh I feelb bgood I killed the bootle … southern comfort that it ”

    Yes it had been some time since my last drink and how I am feeling this morning it will be quite awhile before I have another!

  3. I took a quiz to find out what kind of liberal I am.
    10 questions, some silly ones.
    http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/bl-liberal-quiz.htm

    My result is —

    Result: New Left Hipster

    You are a New Left Hipster, also known as a MoveOn.org liberal, a Netroots activist, or a Daily Show fanatic. You believe that if we really want to defend American values, conservative hatriots must be exposed and mocked for every fanatical, puritanical, paranoid, fact-allergic, reality-challenged, obstructionist ideal for which they stand.

    • Oh my. Then I took the quiz to show what kind of conservative I am. I found none of these questions silly, and all of them repulsive. It was difficult to find a single answer I was willing to choose.

      http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/bl-conservative-quiz.htm

      Result: Flag-Waving Everyman

      You are a Flag-Waving Everyman, also known as a patriot. You believe in championing liberty over tyranny, apple pie over sushi, and that God gave us a two-day weekend so we could enjoy football and NASCAR.

    • bobwhitenks

      I took the quiz, too: and I’m a “Social Justice Crusader.” O.K. All you other bloggers get busy and post your results, too.

      • This is my Liberal side….

        You are a Peace Patroller, also known as an anti-war liberal or neo-hippie. You believe in putting an end to American imperial conquest, stopping wars that have already been lost, and supporting our troops by bringing them home.

        I can agree with the assessment above – I do hate wars and I do not believe that America is exceptional simply because we have the biggest guns, nuclear weapons and the sense God gave a slug when NOT to use those weapons of mass destruction.

        My Conservative said is a Flag-Waving Everyman.

        The problem with the CONS quiz was there were not too many answers that I would pick – but since I was forced to choose one (I tried to not choose one and the quiz would not let you go further) – but all the answers seemed so S-T-U-P-I-D…..

        I guess I am really just not true CON material…..thank God..

  4. Some of you here know that I am totally in love with the work of Richard Florida, author of “Rise of the Creative Class.” Read that book and you will well and truly know what’s the matter with Kansas.

    This is a little hard to read, complicated, tedious, and a little boring as all economic geography is. However, if you can pick your way through it, you’ll understand why Florida says “the tea party suicide caucus is where the creative class does not.”

    And that, my friends, is really what’s the matter with Kansas.

    http://www.theatlanticcities.com/politics/2013/10/what-senate-deal-reveals-about-economic-divides-us-politics/7268/

    Ok, daily dose of geekdom off.

  5. I just heard an interesting comment on KMUW (our local PBS radio station). The subject was Obamacare and the comment that interested me was (paraphrased): It’s not that much different than the Ryan plan for Medicare in 10 years.

    • LOL I can just picture it now, Ryan will start screaming about how bad “Obama care is and then with what remaining breath he has will be accusing the President of being so amoral and dishonest he stole his idea

      • I don’t even expect republicans to act rationally. They’ve shown their butts so many times they can’t even feel the cold air and don’t have enough sense to pull up their pants.

        They really are much the same thing — premium support to buy on the open market. But we already knew Obamacare was a republican idea enacted by a democrat.

        Now, Obamacare does improve what must be covered by those insurance companies and reduce costs overall through some regulations to keep insurance companies in line.

      • Certainly no one can deny the glitches in the roll out — the online programming seems to be a big cluster ___.

        Other problems have to do with words. We call it health care when it’s insurance that helps pay for health care. The republicans named the reforms Obamacare and now we find out people don’t like Obamacare but if you call it by its real name, The Affordable Care Act, or any number of names each individual state uses, then people are really anxious and exicted to see whether they can actually get health insurance. People want health insurance and they understand the importance of that coverage. Since Obamacare will be portable health insurance it’s even better for most folks. Being able to change jobs and not worry about endangering our families health insurance coverage is a good thing.

  6. Health insurance, at least in my case, has absolutely nothing to do with my health, either maintaining it or improving it. It is asset protection insurance, pure and simple. I’m just trying to protect my assets from medical bankruptcy. I can never afford to actually use my insurance. I just pay extortion money every month so the medical industrial complex does not seize my assets if I should fall ill or have an accident.

  7. You all know how I feel about our former governors. She phucked up Kansas’ water allocation policies and was an enemy of gays and lesbians everywhere. And those are the nicest things I can say about her.

    So… imagine my surprise (not) that she was at the helm when the cluster____ went on-line. She can’t manage her way out of a wet paper bag. She’s charming and good with the press, but managing anything, including the Kansas budget without giving away property taxes to business and robbing the transportation fund at KDOT, uh, not so much.

    Where do you think Brownback got the idea to rob KDOT? She was the first to do it. And she exempted businesses from equipment property taxes and kept the portion of state sales tax that had been rebated to counties and cities. All to “balance” her budget.

    She’s great a sleight of hand and selling baloney. Actually accomplishing things and making government work well? Not so much. I think the healthcare.gov fiasco should be final proof. I agree with Pat Roberts for once. Fire her ass immediately and put someone in there who can, ya know, actually manage the program.

  8. Heheheh. Remember, at the old place, I always called her governor “leadership.” Now you know why.

  9. ROFLMAO at the Cruz one. I had not yet seen that one!