Sunday, 10/6/13, Public Square

tea party

12 Comments

by | October 6, 2013 · 6:00 am

12 responses to “Sunday, 10/6/13, Public Square

  1. A new poll released today by Public Policy Polling, and commissioned by MoveOn.org, show that critical congressional seats up for grabs next year could easily swing in favor of Democrats and rob Republicans of their obstructionist majority hold in Congress.

    Democrats would need to win a minimum of 17 House seats in 2014 to win back majority. The PPP poll shows that Republicans are losing significant support in exactly 17 of the following congressional districts currently held by Republican incumbents:

    http://front.moveon.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/PPP_House_Survey.pdf

  2. So, Imagine that the company you work for held a poll, and asked everyone if they thought it would be a good idea to put a soda machine in the break room. The poll came back, and the majority of your colleagues said “Yes”, indicating that they would like a soda machine. Some said no, but the majority said yes. So, a week later, there’s a soda machine.

    Now imagine that Bill in accounting voted against the soda machine. He has a strong hatred for caffeinated soft drinks, thinks they are bad for you, whatever. He campaigns throughout the office to get the machine removed. Well, management decides “OK, we’ll ask again” and again, the majority of people say “Yes, lets keep the soda machine.”

    Bill continues to campaign, and management continues to ask the employees, and every time, the answer is in favor of the soda machine. This happens, lets say… 35 times. Eventually, Bill says “OK, I’M NOT PROCESSING PAYROLL ANYMORE UNTIL THE SODA MACHINE IS REMOVED”, so nobody will get paid unless management removes the machine.

    What should we do???

    Answer: Fire Bill and get someone who will do the (expletive deleted) job.

    Bonus: Bill tells everyone that he was willing to “Negotiate”, to come to a solution where everyone got their payroll checks, but only so long as that negotiation capitulated to his demand to remove the soda machine.

    Bill is a (expletive deleted) jackass.

    -Anonymous

  3. Her Sovereign Majesty Queen Elizabeth II will resume monarchical duties over all states, commonwealths, and territories (except Kansas, which she does not fancy).

    Revocation of Independence
    http://itzhakts.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/revocation-of-independence/

  4. Enjoy the Sunday comic strip that explains how Speaker Boehner does his job.

    http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2012/07/08/opinion/sunday/the-strip.html?_r=0#1

  5. well there has been a fallout because of my Political believes someone at church now avoids me. Giving me hateful stares and walks the other way if she sees me coming! After reading some of my posts on Facebook, she is a diehard Neo-con it turns out.

    • When I was first married – my husband (same one as today 36 years later) was a Baptist preacher. I came from a ‘rival’ Baptist church – and let me tell you ….all Holy Hell broke out in both churches.

      There was an actual Hatfield and McCoy type feud going on……

      It divided up my small town south of Chicago into two damn camps.

      Nothing would sway either side because they knew they were in the ‘right’.

      You know what the big sin was? My husband was a Southern Baptist and I came from the Fundamental Baptist……

      My preacher told me that I was marrying the Devil himself – even with never having talked to my fiancé – but the preacher based his opinion on the fact my fiancé’s hair touched the top of his ears. This was in 1976.

      My husband was in seminary…..I had just finished college in that Fundy Baptist College that I have shared a few stories about.

      We were both 23 years old, college-educated and both working.

      WHAT the HELL was the problem.??

      I have come to the conclusion that it had to be about money. My parents were very big givers in my Fundy Baptist church. And that preacher knew that I would be leaving to join my husband’s church. I think this man ppurposely set out to drive a wedge in between my parents and me as a way to keep my parents’ money coming into HIS coffers.

      My husband and I worked in his church for 7 months – and we endured all kinds of hateful, spiteful, vengeful and downright nasty comments, snide remarks, hate talk and many self-professing Christians driving by the parsonage and making a spectacle out of themselves

      We even had one old lady in my husband’s church that bragged about how she watched us in our upstairs bedroom with her binoculars from her house a few blocks across the way.

      Let me tell you what I did…..I wrote a damn sign and put it in that window and she even spread the word that how terrible I was to use such language.

      Hey – if you are looking into a second-story window, and brag about it, then you deserve every word you read on some damn sign.

      That was the straw that broke that Baptist’s back…….my husband and I both found different jobs and moved away.

      That last sermon was a hoot. My husband pointed out people and named names of those who were not in the crowd of what they were doing. Then we walked out of that damn church, hand in hand, and have not looked back….

      This is why I am so cynical about churches.

      And when I see some of these Republicans who profess to be such morally superior do and say the stuff they do…..I am again reminded of what my husband and I endured..

      We did not lose our faith in God…..
      We lost our faith in churches.

      Anybody can claim to be a Christian……it takes a person who truly strives to live by the teachings of Jesus to BE a Christian – IMHO

      So…..holding a country hostage because the health care reform law now provides access to Americans buying health insurance for the first time in their life or due to having been sick and denied coverage elsewhere is not exactly what I think Jesus would do – do you?

      Count yourself lucky the old bitty walks away from you.

      But…..be careful about your windows….you may never know who has binoculars….LOL

      • Just a funny little addition to my story above.

        My Fundy Preacher is now on his 4th wife – was asked to leave his position as president of a Fundy Baptist College in Wisconsin due to his relationship with his wife (which was #3) …..hmmmmm…??

        BTW – that Fundy Baptist College was founded by this preacher man’s father …..

        Whatever happened must have been bad enough publicity that even his Founding Father’s ass could not save him…..LOL

        At last time I checked this preacher man’s FB page – he was selling real estate in Florida……..

        He marked that he loves Sarah Palin for her politics and his Tea Party folks…

        And then we wonder why these folks all applaud Newt Gingrich?…

        They’re all just a bunch of Churchy Folks……that’s all……just Churchy folks…..

        I suspect if the real Jesus came into their doors….these folks would spit in his brown-skinned, long-haired and bearded face….

        Especially when they get a good look at his sandals and that plain-looking robe garment…

        These Churchy Folks much prefer the Americanized Jesus – the blonde haired, bearded, blue-eyed Jesus. I am waiting for them to picture Jesus as Rambo – loaded down with military-type assault weapons.

        Hey – I would not put anything past these Churchy folks….

        The next time you look at some pictures of Jesus…….just take a good look at how many of these images have changed throughout the years….

  6. Is this not a sad commentary on Americans?

    BTW – I wonder how many of these foreign adoptions are done by religious folks…….that makes it a double sad commentary – IMHO

    http://news.msn.com/us/failed-adoptions-stir-outrage-reforms-are-elusive?gt1=51501

  7. It’s like watching the electric meter spin on a really hot August day.

    Cost of government shutdown just keeps going up —

    http://www.moveon.org/costoftheshutdown/#.UlHjmqtd7gM.facebook

    • The saddest part of all is the folks that caused the shutdown are still insisting it is Obama and Harry Reid’s fault.

      Remember the good old days when Republicans bragged about being the party of accountability and taking responsibility?

  8. I have to wonder….where do we go from here? Have we reached the bottom of the cesspool of Republicans?

    If by any miracle we elect a future white male Republican to the White House – do these current Republicans think that everyone will just forget what they have done to Obama for the past 5 years?

    NOT ME….I will NEVER forget.

  9. Did anyone else get an email from Democracy for America asking for a contribution to Wendy Davis’ campaign for Governor of Texas?

    I NEVER give any money to those types of emails….but I did tonight for Wendy Davis.

    She reminds me of Ann Richards…….and Texas needs a good kick in their Red-assed GOP butts…