Sunday, 7/28/13, Public Square

doesn't work

6 Comments

by | July 28, 2013 · 6:00 am

6 responses to “Sunday, 7/28/13, Public Square

  1. ‘My Congressional District’ gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey. The American Community Survey provides updated detailed demographic, social and economic statistics every year for the nation’s communities.

    With ‘My Congressional District,’ you can view statistics covering age, employment, education, and much more.

    http://www.census.gov/mycd/application/#sthash.3m8sB0yf.dpuf

  2. (from the link): …a simple plan to build support for the law, which continues to be viewed with suspicion by large numbers of Americans. “We’re going to implement it,” he said.

    Mr. Obama said members of Congress who questioned his power to delay the provision should “make that case.” But he pointedly suggested that the criticism had less to do with the substance of the issue and more to do with political efforts to undermine his presidency.

    “There’s not an action that I take that you don’t have some folks in Congress who say that I’m usurping my authority,” Mr. Obama said in the interview. “Some of those folks think I usurp my authority by having the gall to win the presidency. And I don’t think that’s a secret.”

    “Me just making more speeches explaining it in and of itself won’t do it,” he said. “The test of this is going to be, is it working? And if it works, it will be pretty darn popular.”

    Obama Intends to Let Health Care Law Prove Critics Wrong by Succeeding
    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/28/us/politics/obama-intends-to-let-health-care-law-prove-critics-wrong-by-succeeding.html

  3. I have had a few discussions with acquaintances about how Obama is ruining the country.

    When they get finished with their Tea-Party tirade of useless, inaccurate ramblings – I ask them which party IS to be trusted.

    Is the party that brought us an unnecessary and costly war a good party?

    Is the party that brought us to the brink of economic collapse, a good party?

    How about the party that sat by and applauded while their boy in the White House gave himself numerous executive powers – one of which was the power to label anyone an enemy combatant and order that person to be held indefinitely – with no rights, not being charged with a crime for years and no trial – to prove guilt.

    I remind them of the eight years of George W. Bush and Company……and then I smugly ask – is this the party you fully trust with your life?

    If so -….then you deserve what you got.

  4. BTW – I posted a few days ago about my coworker asking me if I knew Obama had passed a law to mandate black boxes in all new cars starting in 2014.

    Okay….I did my research (hey, she could have done the same thing, but why bother when you can just believe Foxxies Hen House?)

    This black box in cars thing has been going on for the past two decades!

    The National HIghway Transportation Board is the one proposing a universal mandate for ALL auto makers to install black boxes in all their cars starting with 2014.

    The idea is to promote safety – and to help initiate any safety recalls sooner – if enough evidence from black boxed cars prove there is a default in the car’s design.

    I also was PROUD to report to my coworker that there have been Congress Critters (on both siders of the aisle) that have proposed an amendment to this mandate to make car manufacturers TELL the consumers there is a black box in the car they are purchasing (which is only fair – IMHO)

    IN fact, there have been black boxes installed in American cars for the past 20 years….hey, I did not know that – did you?

    Anyway – this mandate is to make ALL car manufacturers to follow the same rules.

    But…back to those Congress Critters …..the earliest one I found in my research was in 2004….

    Yeah – you read it correctly – 2004.

    When I informed my coworker that this was an issue in 2004 – I smugly asked her – now, let’s see, who was in the White House in 2004? Can you say ‘ George W. Bush’? I know you can.

    She failed to see the humor…..

    I ended our short conversations with another smackdown ….

    BTW – President Obama (nor any other president) can EVER pass a law by themselves.

    The Congress Critters are the ones that pass the laws…….so, again, let’ see……which party was in total control in 2004?

    Can we say ….REPUBLICANS? I know we can..