Tuesday, 7/16/13, Public Square

the corporate states of america

14 Comments

by | July 16, 2013 · 6:00 am

14 responses to “Tuesday, 7/16/13, Public Square

  1. wicked

    I wasn’t aware until late last night that KS has its own Stand Your Ground law. Apparently I’ve been living under a rock. Maybe I should stay there, considering.

  2. wicked

    One more on our side.

    I have a friend who lives in Colorado, but is moving back home to our fair city in September. I didn’t know her before she moved away. The connection is through our profession. She let me know this morning that she’s been hooking up with some of the Dem organizations here, so one more here to fight with the good guys. I’ll point her in this direction and maybe try to drag her along to any get-togethers or lynchings we might have. 😉

  3. Need some inspiration? This does it for me. I respect this man and his predictions so this means there can’t be any rest, certainly no apathy can take hold. I do understand we’re in Kansas, but we can’t let that stymie our efforts.

    Senate Control in 2014 Increasingly Looks Like a Tossup
    http://fivethirtyeight.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/07/15/senate-control-in-2014-increasingly-looks-like-a-tossup/?smid=tw-fivethirtyeight&seid=auto

    • I think he’s correct. Unlike you, I strongly believe there’s not much we can do about it absent Koch-like resources. This, by the way, is a consequence (unintended to be sure) of the attempts to democratize the federal government.

      • Well, I don’t like your attitude, young man. 🙂

        I think we should respect his input, he seems to have predicting down to a better science than most. I am the perpetual optimist, almost to the point of being annoying. Or maybe all the way to that point and I’m just surrounded by kind people who put up with me.

      • fnord, keep the optimism flowing. Part of my belief is centered around seats in play in 2014, part based upon history, and part in recognition of the absolute need for money. I think we know what the Koch brothers will be doing, and it is folly to expect to go to war against them without an adequate arsenal. I hope I’m wrong. I just don’t think I am.

  4. I have mixed emotions about stand your ground…. Without such a law it makes it a horror-able event to endure that could mean you will lose everything. Without a standard that establishes that you can defend your life or someone else’s. It opens you up to being sued to the point that everything you own you will lose. Not to mention the possible outcome of imprisonment for a good deal of your natural life. There is a difference between the law and justice.

    Don’t get me wrong, I will not give a total exclusion to everyone to use deadly force in every circumstance. But the sad truth is that law enforcement rarely arrive in the nick of time. When I would get a call I would get there as quick as possible without causing a death myself. Another point I have to admit about Law enforcement is that more often they will have to handle the aftermath of deadly crime. I would rather that he would have called the Police and waited for them then to take the event in his own hands.

    • As long as there are STAND YOUR GROUND laws cases like the George Zimmerman one are inevitable because those laws allow the person left standing to benefit from reasonable doubt. How will it be possible to erase doubt when there’s only one person left alive to speak and whatever that one story is will be all you have to go on?

  5. 6176, here’s some optimism! This gets really interesting as it goes on and she has answers all the way through.

    • My senior senator gives me a reason to, if not like him, at least partially support him, and dislike him less. That’s politics.

      • Over the years your senior senator has been on both ends of my approval / disapproval meter many times. I’ll give him this — even when he pegged out on the disapproval side he wasn’t as abhorrent as some of today’s freshmen congress critters.