The Dept of Homeland Security, Sans Confusion, Anxiety and Fear?

napolitano2[2]Janet Napolitano, Head of the Dept of Homeland Secuity, on Wednesday said, “For too long, we’ve treated the public as a liability to be protected rather than as an asset in our nation’s collective security.  This approach, unfortunately, has allowed confusion, anxiety and fear to linger.”  Well, Janet, your points are exactly 100% true.  Do you not get that sowing confusion, anxiety and fear was the express purpose of the Dept of Homeland Security.  George and Dick had a good thing going with this schtick, too.  They won the presidency in 2004 after allowing the worst attack in history on American soil.  They won that contest by convincing voters that they would be better at keeping America safe.

So, you’re talking about educating U.S. citizens on recognizing terrorism precusors, working with foreign governments in processing their intelligence data, and improving the communication among local and federal law enforcement in this country.  All that sounds good, but what about this self-defeating plan of reducing confusion, anxiety, and fear?  Do you need a job, or not?

iggydonnelly

22 Comments

Filed under Cheney, Crimes, History, Political Reform, Republicans, Wingnuts!

22 responses to “The Dept of Homeland Security, Sans Confusion, Anxiety and Fear?

  1. wicked

    Janet Napolitano was the first guest on Real Time with Bill Maher last Friday and was a delight to listen to. She’s articulate, intelligent, and even a bit funny while answering questions that could have been tricky, as far as security is concerned.

    Bill mentioned the recent discovery of a snafu in the security of government buildings that was realized when “tests” were done regarding taking things into those buildings. These buildings included DoHS and several others. Agents were able to sneak in small amounts of explosive devices by walking right through the doors with them. Scary, huh? But as Ms. Napolitana explained, that’s why the tests were done. They are now working hard on filling those holes and cracks, aware that it could happen.

    Bill also asked when he could take his shampoo on the plane. She explained the reasons for the airline measures in simple terms that anyone could understand and accept.

    She’s definitely trying. Security for a country this large isn’t a walk in the park, and even though we were told that it was tightened, most of us know the opposite was true. She’s level-headed enough not to leave things as they were and is attempting to do what’s necessary to make it better.

    An addendum: Bill’s guests are the reason I watch the show. Although I often agree with him, there are times I don’t, but at least he stays to the left of most discussions, and I’ve yet to see him break down and cry. :) But he can rant as good as Rush.

  2. “…even though we were told that it was tightened, most of us know the opposite was true.”

    Most of us here on this board know that, but I don’t think most Americans do. It seems to me the dog and pony shows at the airports honestly fool people.

    And listen to all the so-called Conservatives rant about people who have nothing to hide… They can’t see beyond the tip of their nose in discussions about losing our civil rights.

    I’ve told you all before about buying a ticket for an Amtrak trip from Boston to DC online (POST 911), boarding without an iota of security with my suitcase that wasn’t looked at, traveling down the eastern seaboard through many highly populated areas overnight and arriving at my destination which was about a block away from The Mall (close to everything including the White House!). My suitcase could have held enough explosives to have done major damage! At no time did I show anyone any ID, all they cared about was whether I had a ticket. Wonder if security on Amtrak or the subway systems in our country’s largest cities has been improved?

    Thanks for sharing what she said — I’m glad to know she does understand and is actually tackling what might make us safer.

    • Thanks, fnord, for that fully hatched terrorist plot.

      Just teasing, of course…

      • lol, Iggy!

        It bothered me then, it still bothers me. The Amtrak stations in both Boston and Wash DC were also subway stations — you went underground and followed the appropriate route to get to your choice of Amtrak or subway trains. Carrying your suitcase all the way. Wonder if it’s changed? I haven’t been on Amtrak since then but I have taken the subway in Boston and many people carry suitcases since one stop is the airport.

  3. wicked

    My guess is, fnord, that she has a huge web to untangle. We all know how secretive each little group is, and here they are all under the umbrella of D0HS, which is a farce. Sometimes grouping isn’t the answer, and she’s taken flak from the right since the get-go.

    I searched YouTube for a video of last week’s Real Time, but only found Overtime that takes place online after the show is over. Bill has had some excellent comments at the end of his New Rules lately. I’m sure the neighbors have heard me cheering. If I can find a link to one of the best, I’ll post it. I did see a few of those on YouTube, but didn’t check them out.

    • Is his show on HBO? I don’t have that channel and probably need to cancel some I subscribe to already so it’s unlikely I’ll add it.

    • wicked

      Yes, fnord, HBO. Real Time is the reason we chose HBO over the others, and to be honest, I just don’t get in a lot of TV watching, especially during the summer. And to think that in my younger days I used to veg out as much as possible in front of the boob tube. This summer I’ve watched Bill and Mental,a summer replacement on Fox. When September 23 hits, I’ll be back to faithfully watching Criminal Minds. Other than that? Zilch. Which leads me to a rant, but I won’t follow it. Maybe later on another thread.

  4. Under the Bush Administration there was great concentration on the Islamic world and the dangers they posed. I think they ignored the greatest dangers and over emphasized ones they wanted to make more of.

    There is an interesting article in today’s Wichita Eagle –

    Declassified Ike papers show challenges.”

    President Eisenhower grappled with topics like relations with Iran and stability in Iraq during an era that was far more complex than thought, newly declassified documents show.

    The papers illustrate that the 1950s, long viewed as an idyllic time of “I Love Lucy” and cars with tail fins, were fraught with delicate policy challenges.

    “What’s ironic is that the issues that Eisenhower was dealing with 50 or so years ago are the issues that the Obama administration is dealing with today,” Eisenhower Presidential Library director Karl Weissenbach said Wednesday.

    “The records show the U.S. has long been concerned over its relationship with the Muslim world.”

    • I think bush the lesser and his minions used religion in many negative ways including making Americans scared and intolerant of others and their beliefs and faith. I also don’t think religious people recognize how they were used!

  5. lilacluvr

    Remember the hate speech against Janet Napolitano when the DHS released the report about radical right-wing extremists?

    Well, now that Roeder and a few other right-wingers have shown their true colors – suddenly you don’t hear so much from the Rush and Rushettes – do you?

    I long for the day that the logical side of the collective American brain does have to fight the irrational side of the brain about everything! In other words, Rush and Rushettes need not apply for the DHS positions.

    • lilacluvr

      I noticed I left the word ‘not’ out of the phrase – American brain does -not- have to fight the

  6. lilacluvr

    That depends on which religious people you are talking about …

    In some fundamental churches -which is the bulk of your Republican right-wingers – the fact that they consider themselves to be superior is their religion.

    You know, kinda like that C-Street group. These are men who actually believe that God chose them to be in power and could do whatever they want.

    Maybe these same religious people need to learn an old saying – The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away.

    • Those people give their god a really bad name by their representation.

      • I couldn’t agree more. The way the right wing wackos portray their religious beliefs, it makes one wonder about religion itself. How can people, who profess such strict belief in God and the bible generate so much hate? It boggles the mind.

  7. “Maybe these same religious people need to learn an old saying – The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away.”

    Or, preferrably, “the voters taketh away.”

  8. Bad Biker

    “Confusion, Anxiety and Fear?”

    Let’s see – what are TERRORists trying to accomplish?

    Damn, I knew the answer to this one once………

    Oh, yeah, sow the seeds of confusion, anxiety and fear.

    How about this for an answer – Mr. or Ms. Terrorist (left, right or jihadist) – fuck you, I refuse to be afraid.

  9. Bad Biker

    Sorry, Iggy, for dropping an F Bomb.

  10. wicked

    Having grown up in the 50′s and 60′s during the Red Threat, I recall how fear was sown. Fallout shelters that wouldn’t save a blade of grass, crawling under our school desks, as if that would save us, and Khrushchev pounding his shoe on the podium at the U.N. Thank goodness I don’t remember the McCarthy terrorism, although I do remember watching Edward R. Murrow on TV. I liked his Hollywood interviews, even if I only understood about 10% of them. Hey, I was young.

    I won’t fall for it again. I won’t, I tell you! You see, I’m going to die. It’s inevitable, whether by bomb, war, sickness, a Greyound bus, or just plain giving up. I don’t intend to live my life in fear of every little thing. It’s too short to waste on idiocy. Is that what Dubya meant when he said to go shopping after 9/11? :)

    BTW, my newest granddaughter is scheduled to arrive on…9/11. Not that mama will last until then.

  11. lilacluvr

    Congrats wicked ! Babies are such fun,especially when grandma can spoil them rotten and then send them home!!!

  12. lilacluvr

    I think the only thing Dubya was thinking about when he told us to go shopping was all those Corporate America CEO’s who had bought and paid for his soul, getting mad because they might just lose that extra penny of profit.

    After all, the Republicans’ mantra is – greed is good!